What is this blog for? Now that I come to write about it, that seems a harder question to answer than I expected. But I’m not sure whether that’s because I have a cold at the moment and my mind isn’t working very well, or because of any real difficulty in the question.

I do know how I came to create it, though. For various reasons I want a place where I can  explore a little and reflect on things to do with sexuality. It’s a very personal exploration.

I’ve been fortunate to meet people online with whom I can discuss these things. I have also been unfortunate to meet other people, who have no concept of the sensitivity and mutual respect needed. Unfortunately, both types of person tend to turn up on the same sites at the same time. So what could be places for friendly, sometimes sexy discussion become places where the real stuff can’t be discussed for fear of attack, ridicule etc.

This is exceptionally frustrating. Why should a few people who don’t know how to behave undermine the positive interaction? And anyway it’s my exploration.

So it seemed a good idea to try to create the kind of space I need myself. And I’m still deciding what sort of thing to post and how best to set it up. At the moment it’s publicly viewable, but hidden from search engines, which should mean that only people who know the address find it. My main options seem to be:

  • Make the blog private. Only people I invite can see it, and they all have to sign up for WordPress usernames.
  • Keep the blog public but password-protect some or all posts. This means  that only people I give the password for a particular post can see it or comment on it.
  • Make the whole thing public. I can’t imagine myself doing this!

My brain really isn’t working, so for now I’ll just post this and let one or two people know the blog exists.